Black Movie
International independant
film Festival - Geneva
18-27.01.19

BLACK MOVIE FOR KIDS

Download the BMK 2019 timetable PDF

It's party time !

While Black Movie celebrates its 20th birthday, Black Movie for Kids (BMfK) will be blowing out 15 candles on it's own birthday cake... 15 – the age of reason? Has BMfK become sensible, ready to conform? Not at all! Instead, it'll be an opportunity to fete cinema in all its forms and to reaffirm the kids' festival as an extraordinary, sassy, uniting – in a word, unique – rendezvous!

What marvels are on this exceptional anniversary program? Some 36 films, hand-picked from among the hundreds reviewed. They'll put you through some emotional hoops, incite you to reflect on some fascinating issues (like difference, handicaps or ecology) and take you on a trip to at least 28 countries!
Traditional puppet theater – probably the liveliest and most enchanting kind – will take pride of place this year with 15 masterly and totally extravagant short and feature films.
Kids will also be able to try their hands at film techniques via two introductory film-making workshops, get acquainted with radio work or learn Gypsy dances.
As for the ultimate in party time, watch out for the cine-concert with four musical instruments magnifying the effect of one of this edition's flagship works.

We invite you to join us and discover the many surprises that a simple program couldn't possibly include !

Cine-concert

The Tower

Composer : Nathanaël Bergèse

Animation
Norway, France
2018
76'
DCP
French version

Dive straight into Nathanaël Bergèse's music interpreted live by four musicians (guitarist, violinist, cello player and drummer) who'll play the original soundtrack to accompany the projection of a feature film, The Tower. A poignant and poetic voyage in young Wardi's world, where music transcends the emotions.

76'
Legal age: 10 years old
Suggested age: 10 years old

Grütli Simon

26.01.2019 - 17:00
ciné-concert

Films

Nico et Patou

Mariko Härkönen & Ismo Virtanen

Animation
Finland, Japan
2018
42'
DCP
no dialog

On a gorgeous sunny day, Nico the beetle is upset by the noisy arrival of Patou, the maybug, who has just made a crash landing on his roof. Unwelcoming at first, Nico gets to appreciate Patou who becomes a faithful and caring friend. It's the beginning of many adventures for our two little mates, marked by solidarity, poetry and burlesque.

42'
Legal age : 3 years old
Suggested age : 4 years old

Grütli Simon

19.01.2019 - 11:15
20.01.2019 - 10:00
23.01.2019 - 10:00
27.01.2019 - 13:30

Poppets and kiddiwinks can follow Poupiot and his friends in this infinitely tender program in which moments of gentleness alternate with hilarity and essential themes like sharing, tolerance and respect for living creatures are treated with delicacy and finesse.

42'
Legal age: 4 years old
Suggested age: 4 years old

Grütli Simon

20.01.2019 - 11:15
23.01.2019 - 15:00
26.01.2019 - 10:00
27.01.2019 - 11:15

Capitaine Morten et la reine des araignées

Kaspar Jancis

Animation
Estonia
2018
76'
DCP
French version

Morton dreams of taking off on his father's boat, but he has to stay on land with the bossy Annabelle. Shrunk down to insect size by a strange magician, he's swept up in a fantastic adventure in the spider queen's kingdom where he'll have to earn his captain's stripes. An animated puppets film that's not just dynamic but wonderfully directed as well.

76'
Legal age: 6 years old
Suggested ag : 6 years old

Grütli Langlois

19.01.2019 - 11:00

Grütli Simon

20.01.2019 - 13:15
23.01.2019 - 11:15
27.01.2019 - 10:00

What incredible voyage could take you to ten countries on five continents while you're lounging in a movie theater armchair? Only Black Movie for Kids' World Tour program, obviously! A BMfK flagship program that began 10 years ago and that'll once again invite you to discover the best of animated films!

61'
Legal age: 6 years old
Suggested age: 6 years old

Grütli Simon

19.01.2019 - 10:00

Grütli Langlois

23.01.2019 - 11:00

Grütli Simon

26.01.2019 - 11:15

+in the "maisons de quartier" and "centres de loisirs" (cf. World Tour Stopovers)

Traditional puppet theater creates a lively and natural enchantment that no computer can match... A film program using this technique lets you explore a wide sampling of cinematographic genres, from horrifying farce to adventure story via social fable and ecological manifesto. An hour of pure joy!

63'
Legal age: 8 years old
Suggested age: 8 years old

Grütli Simon

19.01.2019 - 13:30

Grütli Langlois

20.01.2019 - 13:00
23.01.2019 - 13:00
26.01.2019 - 11:00

The Tower

Mats Grorud

Animation
Norway, France
2018
76'
DCP
French version

Wardi, an 11-year-old Palestinian, lives in Beirut in the refugee camp where she was born. The day her grandfather gives her the key to their former home in Galilee, she decides to retrace her own history and that of her people via her family's testimonies. A breathtakingly beautiful film in which drawings and marionettes combine to produce a major work of art.

76'
Legal age: 10 years old
Suggested age: 10 years old

Grütli Langlois

20.01.2019 - 11:00

Grütli Simon

26.01.2019 - 17:00
ciné-concert

Grütli Langlois

27.01.2019 - 13:00

Some people travel thousands of kilometers hoping to make it to the European Eldorado. Others are stigmatized because of their sex or would simply like to be able to play football or go to the movies... So many different realities, fragments of life around the world, in this humanistic selection that reminds us of the importance of determination and courage.

After watching these films, we suggest you continue this journey with a storytelling walk around the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Museum on Saturday 26th. More information on our respective websites.

88'
Legal age : 10 years old
Suggested age : 10 years old

Grütli Langlois

19.01.2019 - 13:00
26.01.2019 - 13:00
27.01.2019 - 11:00

Mini Black Movie

As a privileged partner of the Maison de la Créativité, Mini Black Movie has been a welcome guest in Geneva's institutions for small children since 2007. The Maison de la Créativité will host a new film program in 2019.
www.maisondelacreativite.ch.


Up to 6 years old

Maison de la Créativité
23.01.2019
14:30 - 17:00

Maison de la Créativité
26.01.2019
09:30 - 11:30
14:30 - 17:00

Black Movie
Festival international
de films indépendants - Genève
18-27.01.19

LE PETIT BLACK MOVIE

Télécharger la grille horaire PBM 2019 au format PDF

C’est la fête !

Alors que le Festival Black Movie célèbre ses 20 années d’existence, le Petit Black Movie souffle ses 15 bougies… Serait-ce l’âge de raison ? Le temps de rentrer dans le rang ? Que nenni !
C’est au contraire l’occasion de fêter le cinéma sous toutes ses formes et de se réaffirmer comme un rendez-vous hors-norme, culotté et fédérateur; en un mot : unique !

Quels invités de marque pour un anniversaire d’exception ? Quelque 36 films triés sur le volet parmi des centaines évalués, qui vous feront passer par toutes les émotions, vous questionneront sur des sujets passionnants (tels que la différence, le handicap ou encore l’écologie) et vous permettront de voyager dans pas moins de 28 pays !
L’animation traditionnelle de marionnettes – probablement la plus vivante et enchanteresse qui soit – sera à l’honneur cette année avec 15 courts et longs métrages débordant de folie et de maîtrise.
Les enfants pourront également s’essayer à cette technique à travers deux ateliers d’initiation à la réalisation, faire connaissance avec les métiers de la radio ou encore s’essayer aux danses tsiganes.
Enfin, la fête battra son plein lors d’un ciné-concert à quatre instruments qui magnifiera l’une des œuvres phares de cette édition.

Nous vous invitons à vous joindre à nous et à venir découvrir les nombreuses surprises que ce seul programme ne saurait contenir !

Ciné-concert

The Tower

Compositeur : Nathanaël Bergèse

Animation
Norvège, France
2018
76'
DCP
version française

Plongez au coeur de la musique de Nathanaël Bergèse avec quatre musiciens (guitare, violon, violoncelle et percussions) qui interprèteront en live la bande originale du long métrage The Tower pendant sa projection. Un voyage poignant et poétique dans l’univers de la jeune Wardi, aux émotions transcendées par la présence musicale.

76'
Âge légal : 10 ans
Âge suggéré : 10 ans

Grütli Simon

26.01.2019 - 17:00
ciné-concert

Les films

Nico et Patou

Mariko Härkönen & Ismo Virtanen

Animation
Finlande, Japon
2018
42'
DCP
sans dialogue

Par une belle journée ensoleillée, la vie de Nico le scarabée se retrouve bouleversée par l’arrivée tonitruante de Patou le hanneton, qui vient s’écraser sur le toit de sa maison. Voyant d’abord d’un mauvais œil cet invité surprise, Nico découvre en Patou un ami fidèle, plein de gentillesse. C’est le début d’une série d’aventures pour nos deux petits compères, sous le signe de la solidarité, de la poésie et du burlesque.

42'
Âge légal : 3 ans
Âge suggéré : 4 ans

Grütli Simon

19.01.2019 - 11:15
20.01.2019 - 10:00
23.01.2019 - 10:00
27.01.2019 - 13:30

Loupiots et loupiotes, laissez-vous guider par Poupiot et ses amis dans ce programme d’une infinie tendresse dans lequel se mêlent moments de douceur et instants hilarants, non sans aborder avec finesse et délicatesse des thèmes essentiels tels que le partage, la tolérance et le respect des êtres vivants.

42'
Âge légal : 4 ans
Âge suggéré : 4 ans

Grütli Simon

20.01.2019 - 11:15
23.01.2019 - 15:00
26.01.2019 - 10:00
27.01.2019 - 11:15

Capitaine Morten et la reine des araignées

Kaspar Jancis

Animation
Estonie
2018
76'
DCP
version française

Morten rêve de prendre le large à bord du navire de son père, mais il doit rester à terre chez l'autoritaire Annabelle. Réduit à la taille d'un insecte par un magicien farfelu, il se retrouve entraîné dans une aventure fantastique au royaume de la reine des araignées où il devra conquérir ses galons de capitaine. Une animation de marionnettes aussi dynamique que magistralement réalisée.

76'
Âge légal : 6 ans
Âge suggéré : 6 ans

Grütli Langlois

19.01.2019 - 11:00

Grütli Simon

20.01.2019 - 13:15
23.01.2019 - 11:15
27.01.2019 - 10:00

De tous les voyages, lequel vous fera découvrir en l’espace d’une heure une dizaine de pays sur cinq continents, le tout sans quitter le confort d’un fauteuil de cinéma ? C’est évidemment le « Tour du Monde », programme phare du Petit Black Movie depuis plus de dix ans, qui vous entraînera une nouvelle fois à la conquête du meilleur de l’animation !

61'
Âge légal : 6 ans
Âge suggéré : 6 ans

Grütli Simon

19.01.2019 - 10:00

Grütli Langlois

23.01.2019 - 11:00

Grütli Simon

26.01.2019 - 11:15

+dans les maisons de quartier et centres de loisirs (cf. Les Escales du Tour du Monde)

L’animation traditionnelle de marionnettes produit une vivacité et un enchantement naturel que nul ordinateur ne saurait reproduire… Ce programme de films utilisant avec merveille cette technique permet d’explorer un bel échantillon de genres cinématographiques, de la farce horrifique à la fable sociale en passant par le manifeste pro-écolo et le récit d’aventure. Une heure de pur bonheur !

63'
Âge légal : 8 ans
Âge suggéré : 8 ans

Grütli Simon

19.01.2019 - 13:30

Grütli Langlois

20.01.2019 - 13:00
23.01.2019 - 13:00
26.01.2019 - 11:00

The Tower

Mats Grorud

Animation
Norvège, France
2018
76'
DCP
version française

Wardi, une jeune Palestinienne de 11 ans, vit à Beyrouth dans le camp de réfugiés où elle est née. Le jour où son grand-père adoré lui confie la clé de son ancienne maison en Galilée, elle décide de retracer, à travers les témoignages de sa famille, son histoire et celle de son peuple. Ce film d’une beauté époustouflante où s’entremêlent dessins et marionnettes s’affirme comme une œuvre capitale.

76'
Âge légal : 10 ans
Âge suggéré : 10 ans

Grütli Langlois

20.01.2019 - 11:00

Grütli Simon

26.01.2019 - 17:00
ciné-concert

Grütli Langlois

27.01.2019 - 13:00

Certains parcourent des milliers de kilomètres dans l’espoir de gagner l’eldorado européen, d’autres sont stigmatisé.e.s à cause de leur sexe, ou souhaiteraient simplement pouvoir jouer au foot ou aller au cinéma… Autant de réalités, de fragments de vie à travers le monde, dans cette sélection humaniste qui nous rappelle l’importance de la détermination et du courage.

Nous vous proposons de poursuivre l’expérience de ces films avec une balade contée au Musée international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge, le samedi 26 à 14h.

88'
Âge légal : 10 ans
Âge suggéré : 10 ans

Grütli Langlois

19.01.2019 - 13:00
26.01.2019 - 13:00
27.01.2019 - 11:00

Mini Black Movie

Le Mini Black Movie, partenaire privilégié de la Maison de la Créativité, s’invite dans les institutions de la petite enfance depuis 2007. Un programme de films y sera présenté, renseignements sur le site www.maisondelacreativite.ch.


Jusqu’à 6 ans

Maison de la Créativité
23.01.2019
14:30 - 17:00

Maison de la Créativité
26.01.2019
09:30 - 11:30
14:30 - 17:00