Shopping cart
International Independent Film Festival
22 – 31.01.2021
International Independent Film Festival
22 – 31.01.2021

Competitions and prizes

Five prizes will be awarded at the 2021 festival, with the debut of a new prize given by a jury composed of volunteers. The prizewinners will be announced at the festival's closing ceremony, Sunday 31st January at 18:00.

The trophies have been designed by the artist Cetusss, based in Geneva.

Critics' Prize

The Critics' Prize, worth CHF 5,000.- offered by the City of Geneva's Department of Culture and Digital Transition, is awarded by an intercantonal jury composed of five cinema critics. The previously unreleased prizewinning film is selected for its truly innovative quality.

Members of the jury

Emilien Gür


Emilien Gür studied cinema and French literature at Geneva, Lausanne and Glasgow Universities. He works as a cinema critic for the FilmExplorer platform and as programming and direction assistant and project coordinator for the Journées de Soleure. Since March 2020, he has been a member of the “Queer Short” short films program selection committee of the Sicilia Queer filmfest.

Clara Kiskanc Fischer


Interested in all forms of art, Clara Kiskanc Fischer decided to study cinema and specialized in scriptwriting, which linked her love for writing and her passion for the moving image. A journalist with the Swiss magazine Cinemany, she concentrates mainly on contemporary film-makers ready for challenges and keen to question the world around them. She nonetheless keeps an eye on authors who have made past cinema history. Clara is currently working for the Locarno Film Festival, particularly with the Open Doors team, devoted to the discovery and promotion of films from the global South and East; she examines projects from these regions all year round.

Michael Kuratli


Since 2020, Michael Kuratli has been the co-chief-editor of the Filmbulletin magazine. He studied German language and literature as well as cultural analysis, mainly at Zürich University with an interlude at the University of Buenos Aires. While studying, he directed a Zürich student paper (ZS). Internships with the Neue Zürcher Zeitung, the Zürcher Oberländer and training as a company journalist with Der Republik led him to devote himself entirely to journalism. Apart from this, he composes literary works – a planned novel or musical plays – and has undertaken research into Swiss mythology for a podcast project.

Sabrina Schwob

Sabrina Schwob studied for a first Master's degree in history and cinema esthetics at Lausanne University in 2017 before switching to a new course in modern French the following year. Along with her studies, she became increasingly active in the cinema world. Co-chief-editor of the film critics' review Ciné-Feuilles, she also worked with FilmExplorer, participated in the Locarno Critics Academy, wrote teaching notes for e-media, oversaw film criticism workshops for the TRIBUne des jeunes cinéphiles and brought films to light as a member of the FIFF, TFFL and ENS8FF juries. Interested by artistic writing, she initiated the composition of a podcast in the framework of a partnership between the Théâtre Forum Meyrin and Radio Vostok.

Katja Zellweger

Katja Zellweger is the co-chief-editor of the Berner Kulturagenda and directs Reso – Réseau Danse Suisse's communication. After German studies at Bern University, she worked in Bern's Schlachthaus Theater. In 2018, she participated in the Locarno Critics Academy and commented on the absence of African films in nearly all its sections. Since then, she has been even more active as a writer on cinema for FilmExplorer, Filmbulletin and Cinema Jahrbuch. As an independent journalist, Zellweger covers events, creators and cultural policy for Der Bund, Surprise, WOZ, Das Magazin and Pro Helvetia's Coincidencia program.

Black Movie for Kids Payot Prize

A jury composed of three professionals active in the field of art and animation will pick the prizewinning film. The prize is worth CHF 1,000.- endowed by Payot Libraire.

Members of the jury

Catherine Fattebert

Radio producer

Catherine Fattebert likes all sorts of stories: funny, scary, literary, gastronomic or cinematographic. Busy with the RTS as Travelling producer, she tracks down anecdotes and shares her love for the 7th Art with anyone who's ready to listen while eating popcorn.

Elorri Charriton


Elorri Charriton is an artist-illustrator and graphic designer with a degree from Geneva's School of Art and Design (HEAD). Her work revolves mainly around editorial design. She draws for the press, on walls, and for various projects and formats. She occasionally teaches at Annemasse's Fine Arts School (EBAG). In 2018, she co-founded humains, a review committed to health and societal themes and edited in Geneva. She is responsible for its graphic/editorial line and illustrations.

Henri Marbacher

Film director

Henri Marbacher holds a 2019 degree from the cinema section of Geneva's School of Art and Design (HEAD). Tente 113, Idomèni, an animated documentary in which Marbacher imagines a way to echo the account of a journey from Syria to Switzerland of a young Kurd called Agìr, was selected for the Visions du Réel festival as well as for the Annecy International Animation Film Festival in 2020.

Children's Prize

This prize, awarded by a jury of 7-9-year-olds, goes to one of the Tour du Monde films. Screening and judging will take place on Wednesday 27th January (afternoon) and will be preceded by a short training session designed to help the small jury members to better understand and evaluate the works they will see.
Registration (places are limited):

Volunteers' Prize

2020 having been a totally extraordinary year, we've had to redefine the shape of our 22nd edition. To thank our volunteers for their indispensable assistance, they'll be playing a special role in this 2021 edition. More than ever present, they'll be choosing their own favorite film.

Members of the jury

Àdria Puerto i Molina

2019, 2018 Black Movie volunteer, welcome desk and cinema entrances welcome team

Justine Fontanet

2020, 2019 Black Movie volunteer, cinema entrances welcome team, barmaid

Fleur Heiniger

2020, 2019, 2018 Black Movie volunteer, decoration & logistics dpt and cinema entrances welcome team

Luca Lamberto Marques

2021 Black Movie volunteer, cinema entrances welcome team

Valerio Prato

Since 2012 Black Movie volunteer, film check team