Shopping cart
International Independent Film Festival
Geneva
22 – 31.01.2021
International Independent Film Festival
Geneva
22 – 31.01.2021

Editorial

January 2021: the festival online! Cultural necessity or dispensable product, an event we took for granted before the pandemic turned into an obstacle course depending on Swiss government press briefings and the latest news. With partial re-openings announced in December, we nevertheless anticipated a backlash and got ready for another lockdown.

So… it'll be a digital festival. An online festival chock-a-block full of video capsules, radio interviews and film-makers from around the world talking about their work. Our vocabulary has been enriched with technical jargon and we've grasped at light wherever it could be found. With stubborn love, we've managed to put together an edition of remarkable films!

Which brings us quite naturally – apart from an exceptional “To Be Followed…” section with an exuberant European premiere in which Sion Sono evokes his crazy love for cinema – to propose a film selection which, in the “Silence on the set!” section, by showing hypersensitive actors and actresses, a mix of fiction and reality and the power of images, reveals the behind-the-scenes torments of the 7th Art. The section “To name you, liberty” describes an irrepressible thirst for independence, for a dreamed-of somewhere-else and, above all, the price that must be paid for it, while “War zone” dissects internal conflicts, the scars of civil war or territorial conquests and their destructive effects; women's bodies are another occupied territory and “Women behind the camera” reveals the rebellious side and survival instincts of women, mothers and sisters facing an omnipresent adversary… from women film directors' angle.
And finally, “Nocturama” will explode gender codes to stir your guts and neurones while “Black Movie for Kids, for Adults” will delight its adoring fans.

As for little and not-so-little kids, they're not left out! They'll be treated to a colorful and enchanted Black Movie for Kids with 34 films from 25 countries as well as Tour du Monde on-site screenings in Geneva's community centers. In addition to all that, a very special session will explain how an important film was made and tell us about its protagonist's journey (Los años de Fierro); and finally, round tables will offer insights and reflections on the films' themes…

Stay tuned to the Web's infinite possibilities: as well as the films, there will be live Q&As, conferences and livestreams from Geneva's coolest night spots to brighten up your evenings. And for aficionados and sundry collectors, a limited edition of “Festival Kits” with liquid surprises, goodies, soundtracks and Festival Passes will be on sale!

January 2021: empty movie theater seats yes, but wonderful films, directed with dedication by passionate film-makers and presented via their testimonies on our platform. We encourage you to watch the Festival films at home along with your friends (while observing the sanitary recommendations). Because exchange and sharing are absolutely vital! And because you might be immortalized by our photographers and your thirst quenched by our partners! The festival we've managed to save is all the more precious for having escaped collapse. And, if there's one thing we've learned from this crisis, it's that NOTHING replaces life! Long live cinema!

Kate Reidy & Maria Watzlawick
Co-directors

Panier
Festival international de films indépendants
Genève
22 – 31.01.2021
Festival international de films indépendants
Genève
22 – 31.01.2021

Édito

Janvier 2021 : le festival online ! Nécessité culturelle ou produit dispensable, ce qui paraissait être un événement allant de soi avant la pandémie a pris la forme d’un parcours de combattantes accrochées aux points presse du Conseil fédéral et aux news. À la réouverture annoncée de décembre, redoutant un retour de bâton, nous étions prêtes à envisager une nouvelle fermeture.

Ce festival prend une forme numérique, mais fourmille de capsules vidéos, interviews radio et témoignages de cinéastes habitant aux quatre coins de la planète. Notre vocabulaire s’est enrichi d’un jargon technique, et notre vision a transcendé les écrans pour capter la lumière, où qu’elle se trouve : avec amour et ténacité, nous avons réussi à monter cette édition qui propose un cru de films remarquables !

Ce qui nous amène tout naturellement, outre une section « À suivre… » exceptionnelle, qui comporte notamment une première européenne exubérante de Sion Sono évoquant l’amour fou du cinéma, à vous proposer dans la section « Silence, on tourne ! » une sélection de films évoquant ses composantes : acteur·rice·s hypersensibles, confusion entre fiction et réalité, pouvoir de l’image… Vous en saurez plus sur les affres et les coulisses du 7e art ! La section « Liberté, j’écris ton nom » décrit quant à elle le besoin irrépressible d’indépendance et d’un ailleurs fantasmé, et surtout le prix qu’il faut y mettre pour le satisfaire, tandis que « War zone » détaille des conflits intérieurs, les traces laissées par les guerres civiles ou les conquêtes de territoires et leurs suites destructives ; les corps des femmes dans l’espace public étant aussi un terrain de possession ou d’occupation, « La femme à la caméra » expose la part rebelle et l’instinct de survie de femmes, mères et sœurs face à un adversaire omniprésent et ce, du point de vue de réalisatrices.
« Nocturama », enfin, éclatera les codes du genre pour vous secouer les tripes et les neurones et le « Petit Black Movie pour adultes » y sera en bonne place.

Les enfants petit·e·s et grand·e·s ne seront pas en reste avec un Petit Black Movie coloré et enchanteur comprenant 34 films de 25 pays et des ateliers et projections du Tour du Monde en présentiel. En plus de tout cela, une séance très spéciale racontera le parcours d’un film et de son protagoniste (Los años de Fierro) et, enfin, des tables rondes apporteront éclairages et réflexions sur les thématiques des films…

Restez à l’affût des possibilités infinies d’Internet : en plus des films, des Q&A live et des conférences en direct auront lieu, et des livestreams des lieux de nuit les plus cools de Genève égayeront vos soirées. Et pour les aficionados et autres collectionneurs, des « Kits festival » en édition limitée avec surprises liquides, goodies, bandes-sons et Pass festival seront en vente !

Janvier 2021 : fauteuils de cinéma froids et salles vides, mais films merveilleux visibles sur notre plateforme, réalisés avec acharnement par des cinéastes passionné·e·s et présent·e·s par leurs témoignages. Nous vous encourageons à faire des séances à plusieurs dans votre salon (dans le respect des normes sanitaires), parce que l’échange et le partage restent indispensables et que vous pourrez être immortalisés par nos photographes et abreuvés par nos partenaires ! En cette période de fermeture des cinémas, ce qui existe est d’autant plus précieux, et s’il y a bien une chose que nous aurons apprise durant cette crise c’est que RIEN ne remplace la vie ! Vive le cinéma !

Kate Reidy & Maria Watzlawick
Co-directrices