Shopping cart
International Independent Film Festival
Geneva
22 – 31.01.2021
International Independent Film Festival
Geneva
22 – 31.01.2021

Sections

To Be Followed…


Our selection of the best of world auteur cinema has a special flavor this year: that of being reunited with faithful friends who're on top form and remind us what it was like before the pandemic!

Silence on the set!


Films that juggle with cinema codes and measure their own power: from an extreme 6-hour-long cinematographic experiment to an Argentinian suspense film on the world of dubbing as well as a South Korean phantom actor or the practice of staging your life to transcend it… Cinema is living matter; long live cinema!

To name you, liberty


Lost Mexican teenagers playing a fatal game; a Rom family dreaming of recovering their lost paradise; a rebellious chess champion in Azerbaijan; or Lagos city-dwellers looking for their eldorado – just so many characters who, by stepping out of line, are forced to pay the price.

War zone


Resistance to neocolonialism in Brazil, tribute to the victims of a Chechen attack in Russia, a popular uprising in the USSR, a battle with no enemies in Cuba, a struggle for democratic elections in Kenya, a totalitarian trial in Romania under Ceaușescu: just so many solitary situations between civil wars and vain battles are explored in this section.

Women behind the camera


Lost on the stage of a Mexican cabaret, after a bereavement in Argentina or on a Bulgarian roadside, ill-treated in the Donbass, raped in Seoul or treated as a witch in Kenya: these women are the brave heroines of the films in this section, all signed by women directors.

Nocturama


A bloody Uruguayan high-speed chase in an old Montevideo cinema, a Korean crime movie with multiple plot twists, crazy strolls through Cape Town nights, thrilling and absurd cartoons or Kazakh cowboys and kittens: highly recommended night vision!

Black Movie for Kids


With 34 films from 25 countries, this new edition of Black Movie for Kids incites us to redesign the world. Films that help kids to grow in the light of a projector, to blossom as they share with others, to advance confidently into tomorrow's world.

Panier
Festival international de films indépendants
Genève
22 – 31.01.2021
Festival international de films indépendants
Genève
22 – 31.01.2021

Sections

À suivre…


Notre sélection de la fine fleur du cinéma d’auteur mondial a cette année une saveur toute particulière : celle des retrouvailles avec des amis de longue date au meilleur de leur forme et qui nous rappellent comment c’était avant la pandémie !

Silence, on tourne !


Œuvres jonglant avec les codes du cinéma et mesurant son pouvoir, les films de cette section nous mènent de l’expérience cinématographique russe extrême de 6 heures au suspense argentin sur le monde du doublage en passant par un univers où rôde le fantôme d’un acteur sud-coréen et par un lieu perdu où la mise en scène de sa vie est nécessaire pour la transcender… Le cinéma est une matière vivante, vive le cinéma !

Liberté, j’écris ton nom


Adolescents perdus de Mexico qui s’adonnent à un jeu fatal, famille rom rêvant de retrouver un paradis perdu, champion d’échecs en rébellion en Azerbaïdjan ou citadin·e·s de Lagos en quête d’un eldorado, autant de personnages qui sortent du rang et le paient le prix fort.

War zone


Résistance au néocolonialisme au Brésil, commémoration d’un attentat tchétchène en Russie, soulèvement populaire en URSS, combat sans ennemis à Cuba, lutte pour des élections démocratiques au Kenya, procès totalitaire en Roumanie sous Ceauşescu : autant de situations solitaires explorées par les films de cette section, entre guerres civiles et vaines batailles.

La femme à la caméra


Perdues sur la piste d’un cabaret mexicain, après un deuil en Argentine ou au bord d’une route bulgare, certaines maltraitées au Donbass, une autre violée à Séoul, une autre encore traitée de sorcière au Kenya : les héroïnes des films de cette section, tous signés par des réalisatrices, ont du courage à revendre.

Nocturama


Course poursuite uruguayenne et sanglante dans un vieux cinéma de Montevideo, polar coréen aux multiples rebondissements, balade déjantée dans les nuits du Cap, animations vibrantes et absurdes ou encore cowboys et chatons kazakhs : la vision nocturne est vivement recommandée pour ces films !

Petit Black Movie


À travers 34 œuvres en provenance de 25 pays, la nouvelle édition du Petit Black Movie nous invite à repenser le monde.
Une programmation pour grandir à la lueur du projecteur, s’épanouir dans le partage d’un film, et avancer en toute confiance vers le monde de demain.