Shopping cart
International Independent Film Festival
Geneva
22 – 31.01.2021
International Independent Film Festival
Geneva
22 – 31.01.2021

The Festival

History

Emerging in 1991 out of a desire to present films made in Africa, a multidisciplinary and artistic event until 1998, the Black Movie Festival shifts its focus in 1999 at the instigation of new management.

Faithful to its initial vocation of promoting films shaped by realities and imaginary realities other than those familiar in the Western world and echoing the multiculturalism that characterizes Geneva, the festival widens its horizons to films from the three so-called "Southern" continents: Africa, Asia and Latin America. Guided by new management, the event also focuses entirely on the 7th Art.

In its choice of films, Black Movie favors auteur cinema, as well as independent or unusually formatted films that are rarely, or not at all, shown in Swiss movie theaters. The festival aims to harmonize with contemporary cinematography, anchored in today's social and esthetic realities, and to develop as yet unpublished and innovative programming.

Presentation

Committed to the defense of Asian, African, Middle Eastern and South American films, the Black Movie Festival has offered film-lovers in Geneva and French-speaking Switzerland an opportunity to discover the films of Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Jia Zhangke, Carlos Reygadas, Wang Bing, Hong Sangsoo, Takashi Miike, Tsai Ming-Liang and João Pedro Rodrigues – for the first time. Most of those film directors, now winning kudos and prizes at the world's most prestigious film festivals (Cannes, Berlin, Venice, Busan, Toronto, Rotterdam…), were there in person when their films were being screened at Black Movie.

Sorted into thematic sections (society, politics, new urban culture, gender...), the films screened during this annual 10-day festival witness to the liveliness of an international cinematography completely ignored by commercial distribution circuits and barely visible in Switzerland. Here, audience find all shapes and sizes of film: fiction, documentaries, experimental, animated, feature length and short films. Daring and specifically targeted programming encourages minority voices, candor, cinematographic quality and impertinence. As for the festival's competitive aspect, a Jury of international critics awards a prize from the City of Geneva to the year's finest work.

Black Movie can lay claim to global outreach, confirmed by the arrival each year of some twenty guest film directors from all continents and by the presence of and coverage by numerous foreign correspondents.

Black Movie Festival is organized by the Sirocco association.

Maison des arts du Grütli
16, rue du Général-Dufour
1204 Genève
Tel: +41 22 320 83 87 (no information)
Information for the audience is available, see "Practical Info"
info(at)blackmovie.ch

Panier
Festival international de films indépendants
Genève
22 – 31.01.2021
Festival international de films indépendants
Genève
22 – 31.01.2021

Le festival

Historique

Né en 1991 d’une envie de montrer des films en provenance des pays d’Afrique, manifestation pluridisciplinaire et artistique jusqu’en 1998, le festival Black Movie entame un tournant en 1999 sous l’impulsion d’une nouvelle direction.

Conservant la vocation initiale du festival de promouvoir des regards modelés par d’autres réalités et d’autres imaginaires que ceux du monde occidental, et en écho à la multiculturalité qui imprime son identité à Genève, le festival élargit l’horizon des films proposés aux films des trois continents dits du Sud : Afrique, Asie et Amérique latine. La nouvelle direction recentre aussi complètement la manifestation sur le 7e art.

Le festival a également axé ses propositions cinématographiques sur des films d’auteur, indépendants ou aux formats hors normes, qui ne sortent que peu ou pas dans les salles de cinéma suisses. Son but est d’entrer en résonance avec des cinématographies contemporaines, ancrées dans des réalités sociales et esthétiques d’aujourd’hui, et de développer des programmations inédites et innovatrices.

Présentation

Engagé dans la défense des productions asiatiques, africaines, orientales et sud-américaines, le festival Black Movie a permis au public genevois et suisse romand de découvrir pour la première fois des films de Apichatpong Weerasethakul, Jia Zhangke, Carlos Reygadas, Wang Bing, Hong Sangsoo, Takashi Miike, Tsai Ming-Liang et João Pedro Rodrigues. Aujourd’hui primés et reconnus dans les festivals les plus prestigieux du monde (Cannes, Berlin, Venise, Busan, Toronto, Rotterdam…), ces cinéastes étaient pour la plupart présents au moment des projections de leurs films.

Regroupés en sections thématiques (société, politique, nouvelles cultures urbaines, genres…), les films montrés chaque année pendant 10 jours témoignent de la vivacité d’une cinématographie internationale passée sous le radar des circuits de distribution et majoritairement inédite en Suisse. Le public y trouve des réalisations sous toutes formes : fiction, documentaire, expérimental, animation, longs et courts métrages. La programmation audacieuse et pointue du festival favorise les voix minoritaires, la liberté de ton, la qualité cinématographique, l’impertinence. Sur le plan compétitif, un jury de critiques internationaux remet le prix de la Ville de Genève à la meilleure œuvre.

Le festival Black Movie peut se réclamer d’un rayonnement global, confirmé par la venue annuelle d’une vingtaine de cinéastes en provenance de tous les continents et par la présence et la reconnaissance de nombreux journalistes étrangers.

Le festival Black Movie est organisé par l’association Sirocco.

Maison des arts du Grütli
16, rue du Général-Dufour
1204 Genève
Tél : +41 22 320 83 87 (pas d’informations au public)
Informations au public, voir "Pratique"
info(at)blackmovie.ch